About CBST

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed,

rightly handling the word of truth. (2 Timothy 2:15)

All those that have worked on the CBST deeply believe in "sola Scriptura", that the Scriptures alone are the source of God's authoritative revelation and all that is needed for life and godliness (2 Peter 1:3). In our world today and even in the church, many would say they are seeking truth, but they are looking for it in the wrong places or finding a truth of their own making. What was true of Israel in Jeremiah's day could aptly be said of many today: For my people have committed two evils; they have forsaken me the fountain of living waters, and hewed them out cisterns, broken cisterns, that can hold no water (Jeremiah 2:13).

This problem that we face today is not new. Paul would tell Timothy some 2000 years ago that there would come a time when people would reject both the teachers and the truth of God that they teach and would go after myths. However, before stating the crisis, Paul had already given Timothy a solution (notice the "for" that begins 2 Timothy 4:3), a solution that was simple yet profound. "I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingdom: preach the Word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching" ( 2 Timothy 2:1-2). As we read Paul's final inspired appeal to Timothy, we can still feel the impassioned urgency brought about by his impending death and realization that a day is coming when truth will be rejected, myth will be accepted, and the only solution will be the preaching of the Word of God.

The goal of CBST is to serve Chinese pastors and church leaders by giving them tools to help them accomplish what Paul so long ago urged his disciple Timothy to do. To that end, we have provided resources for sermon preparation, so pastors can be more efficient in their study time and more effective at rightly handling the Word of God each time they preach or teach.

Following in the footsteps of Paul and Timothy are a long line of preachers who have been found faithful in their handling of the truth. As you read the following quotes, be encouraged and renew your commitment to the faithful preaching of God's Word:

John Chrysostom (347-407) You praise what I have said, and receive my exhortation with tumults of applause; but show your approbation by obedience; that is the only praise I seek.

Martin Luther (1483-1546) Let ministers daily pursue their studies with diligence and constantly busy themselves with them …This should be my concern; how others get the truth from me. Studying is my work--the work God wants me to do. And if it pleases Him, He will bless it. (What Luther Says: An Anthology, Vol. 2, p. 927)

William Tyndale (1494-1536) Thou shalt understand, therefore, that the scriptures hath but one sense, which is the literal sense. And that literal sense is the root and ground of all, and the anchor that never faileth, whereunto if thou cleave, thou canst never err or go out of the way (William Tyndale, "The Obedience of a Christian Man," Doctrinal Treatises(Cambridge, 1848) 303-4)

John Calvin (1509-1564) Let us not take it into our heads either to seek out God anywhere else than in his Sacred Word, or to think anything about him that is not prompted by his Word, or to speak anything that is not taken from that Word. (Calvin, Institutes in Christian Classics, 1:13:21 (1, 146))

Puritans Calvin wrote concerning the Puritan ministers, Their whole task is limited to the ministry of God's Word, their whole wisdom to the knowledge of his Word: their whole eloquence, to its proclamation. (John Calvin, Institutes of the Christian Religion (trans. and annotated by Ford Lewis Battles, reprint of 1536 ed.; Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1975) 195)

Of the Puritans, Martin Lloyd Jones would say Religion is man searching for God: Christianity is God seeking man, manifesting Himself to him, drawing Himself unto him. This, I believe is at the back of the Puritan idea of placing in the central position the exposition on the Word in preaching. (D. M. Lloyd-Jones, The Puritans: Their Origins and Successors (Edinburgh: Banner of Truth, 1987) 380

Richard Baxter (1615-1691) I preached as never sure to preach again, and as a dying man to dying men.

Jonathan Edwards (1703-1758) God hath appointed a particular and lively application of his word, in the preaching of it, as a fit means to affect sinners with the importance of religion, their own misery, the necessity of a remedy, and the glory and sufficiency of a remedy provided; to stir up the pure minds of the saints, quicken their affections by often bringing the great things of religion in their remembrance, and setting them in their proper colors, though they know them, and have been fully instructed in them already.

Charles Haddon Spurgeon (1834-1892) I do believe we slander Christ when we think we are to draw the people by something else but the preaching of Christ crucified.

Charles Haddon Spurgeon (1834-1892) Let this be to you the mark of true gospel preaching - where Christ is everything, and the creature is nothing; where it is salvation all of grace, through the work of the Holy Spirit applying to the soul the precious blood of Jesus.

G. Campbell Morgan (1863-1945) The minute we lose our Bible in that regard, we have lost Christ as the final revelation. . . . Every sermon that fails to have some interpretation of that holy truth is a failure. . . . Preaching is not the proclamation of a theory, or the discussion of a doubt. . . . Speculation is not preaching. Neither is the declaration of negations preaching. Preaching is the proclamation of the Word, the truth as the truth has been revealed. (G. Campbell Morgan, Preaching (New York: Revell, 1937) 17-21)

Martyn Lloyd-Jones (1899-1981) To me, the work of preaching is the highest and the greatest and the most glorious calling to which anyone can ever be called. . .I would say without any hesitation that the most urgent need in the Christian Church today is true preaching, it is obviously the greatest need of the world also. (Martyn Lloyd-Jones, Preaching and Preachers (Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1971) 9)

Martyn Lloyd-Jones (1899-1981) Any true definition of preaching must say that that man is there to deliver the message of God, a message from God to those people. If you prefer the language of Paul, he is 'an ambassador for Christ'. That is what he is. He has been sent, he is a commissioned person, and he is standing there as the mouthpiece of God and of Christ to address these people. In other words he is not there merely to talk to them, he is not there to entertain them. (Preaching and Preachers)

James Montgomery Boice (1938-2000) Preaching is the primary means of growth for the local church. There is a great deal of debate about this in our day, but it is the preaching of the Word that God most uses to build up a church, not only numerically but above all (and far more importantly) in spiritual depth and understanding of the people who make up the congregation.

John F. MacArthur (1939- ) The Bible is the Word of God. It emanates from the holiness of God. It reflects the mind and the heart and the will of God, and as such, it must be treated with a tremendous amount of respect. The Bible is not to be dealt with flippantly, it is not to be approached with lack of diligence, it is not to be dealt with in a cursory manner, it is to be dealt with tremendous commitment. (John F. MacArthur, "Principles of Expository Preaching" (Audio Tape GC 2001; Panorama City: Word of Grace, 1980) 1)

John Piper (1946- ) If God is not supreme in our preaching, where in this world will the people hear about the supremacy of God? If we do not spread a banquet of God's beauty on Sunday morning, will not our people seek in vain to satisfy their inconsolable longing with the cotton candy pleasures of pastimes and religious hype? If the fountain of living water does not flow from the mountain of God's sovereign grace on Sunday morning, will not the people hew for themselves cisterns on Monday, broken cisterns that can hold no water . . .? (The Supremacy of God in Preaching (Baker, 1990), p. 108-109

John Piper (1946- ) We are called to be "stewards of the mysteries of God." . . . And the great mystery is "Christ in you, the hope of glory." . . . And that glory is the glory of God. And "it is required of stewards that they be found faithful" - faithful in magnifying the supreme glory of the one eternal God, not magnifying as a microscope that makes small things look bigger; but as a telescope that makes unimaginably great galaxies of glory visible to the human eye. (The Supremacy of God in Preaching)

Steven J Lawson (1951- ) The high ground of Christ & Him crucified must be claimed in our preaching. Any other footing is a slippery slope that inevitably descends downward into vain rhetoric and mere words. To the contrary, every pulpit must present a towering vision of the unique person and saving work of Jesus Christ. All preaching must point to His sin-bearing, substitutionary death for sinners. All exposition must lift up this Sacrificial Lamb who became a sin-bearing Substitute for all who believe. Every message must exalt this Christ, who was raised from the dead, exalted to the right hand of God the Father, and entrusted with all authority in heaven and earth."

Steven J Lawson (1951- ) The spiritual life of any congregation and its growth in grace will never exceed the high-water mark set by its pulpit. (The Kind of Preaching God Blesses)

关于我们

你当竭力在神面前得蒙喜悦,作无愧的工人,按正意分解神的道(提后2:15)

所有参与研经工具网站工作的人都深信“唯独圣经”,即相信唯有圣经是神权柄性启示以及一切关乎生命和敬虔之事(彼后1:3)的源头。在当今世界,甚至包括教会,很多人说他们在寻求真理,却在错误的方向寻找,即便找到了也无非是他们自创的真理。耶利米时期以色列人的情况用在今天的许多人身上真是恰如其分:因为我的百姓做了两件恶事,就是离弃我这活水的泉源,为自己凿出池子,是破裂不能存水的池子(耶2:15)。

我们今天面对的并非是新问题。保罗两千年前就告诉提摩太,到了时候,人们会拒绝教师及他们所传讲的神的真理,去寻求荒谬的言语。然而,保罗在陈述这一危机之前就已经告诉提摩太解决的方法(注意提后4:3开头的“因为”),这个方法简单,但含义深刻。“我在神面前,并在将来审判活人死人的基督耶稣面前,凭着他的显现和他的国度嘱咐你,务要传道,无论得时不得时,总要专心,并用百般的忍耐,各样的教训,责备人,警戒人,劝勉人”(提后2:1-2)。我们读到保罗最后受到默示对提摩太发出恳求时,仍然能感受到他急迫的心情。他知道自己死期将至,也知道神的真理要被离弃、错谬被接受的日子即将来临,所以唯一的办法就是传讲神的道。

研经工具的主要目的是为牧者和教会带领人提供一套有效的工具,帮助他们做到保罗在很久以前敦促他的门徒提摩太做的事情。为了达此目的,我们准备了预备讲章的资源,使牧者们在研经的时候可以更高效,每一次讲道或教导都因正确掌握了神的话语,而更有影响力。

许许多多牧师都追随保罗和提摩太的脚踪,忠心地讲解神的真理。读下面的引文的时候,希望你能受到鼓励,再一次下定决心忠心宣讲神的道。

约翰•克里索斯托(347-407):你们赞美我讲的话,对我的劝诫报以热烈的掌声,但我想要的赞美只有一个,那就是你们的顺服。

马丁•路德(1483-1546):牧师们应当每日孜孜以求地研读圣经……我所关心的是,别人如何能从我这里得到真理。研经是我的工作,是神给我的工作。如果我做的得蒙他的喜悦,他就会祝福。 (What Luther Says: An Anthology, Vol. 2, p. 927)

威廉•丁道尔(1494-1536):因此,你们要明白圣经只有一个意思,就是字面意思。它的字面意思是一切的根源和土壤,是海底的锚,永不脱落。如果你忠于它,就不会偏离正道、走上歧途。 (William Tyndale, "The Obedience of a Christian Man," Doctrinal Treatises(Cambridge, 1848) 303-4)

约翰•加尔文(1509-1564):我们不要想在神的神圣话语之外寻找神,也不要不受他话语的引领思考神,并且不要说任何没有圣经根据的话。 (Calvin, Institutes in Christian Classics, 1:13:21 (1, 146))

关于清教徒牧师,加尔文写道: 他们全部的工作仅限于神话语的事工,他们全部的智慧是对神话语的知识,他们全部的口才都用来宣讲神的话语。 (trans. and annotated by Ford Lewis Battles, reprint of 1536 ed.; Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1975) 195)

关于清教徒,钟马田写道: 宗教是人寻找神,而基督教是神寻找人、将自己显现给人,引人到他跟前。我认为这就是为什么清教徒在讲道中以诠释神的道为中心背后的原因。(D. M. Lloyd-Jones, The Puritans: Their Origins and Successors (Edinburgh: Banner of Truth, 1987) 380

理查德•巴克斯特(1615-1691): 每一次讲道对我来说,都像是今生的最后一次,都像是一个将死的人对一群将死的人说话。

乔纳森•爱德华兹(1703-1758): 上帝已经指定一种活泼的形式来应用其话语,那就是讲道。他借助这个形式感动罪人,让他们认识宗教的重要性、他们悲惨的境遇,感到自己需要医治和救赎,看到上帝医治和救赎之道的荣耀和完全,也开启圣徒纯洁的心智,让他们反复思想宗教中重要的事情来激发他们的情感,将这些事活化在他们眼前,虽然他们早就知道这些事情,也早就接受了其中的教训。(《宗教情感》)

查尔斯•司布真(1834-1892): 我确信当我们认为可以通过其他方式而不是宣讲基督被钉十字架来吸引人信教时,就是在毁谤基督。

查尔斯•司布真(1834-1892): 让这句话成为你是否宣讲真正福音的记号:当基督举足轻重时,受造物就无足轻重,所有的恩典都关乎救恩,这救恩是耶稣的宝血借着圣灵的工涂抹在人的灵魂上。

坎贝尔•摩根(1863-1945): 我们脱离圣经的那一刻,就失去了基督作为最终的启示……任何一个不能对圣洁真理进行解释的讲道都是错误的……讲道不是宣讲某个理论、不是讨论某个疑惑……推论、猜测不是讲道,驳斥也不是讲道。讲道是宣扬神的话语,按照真理被启示的方式宣讲真理。 (G. Campbell Morgan, Preaching (New York: Revell, 1937) 17-21)

钟马田(1899-1981): 在我看来,讲道是一个人所有的呼召当中最崇高、最伟大和最荣耀的呼召……我会毫不犹豫地说,今天基督教会最迫切的需要是纯正的讲道,显然这也是世界最大的需要。 (Martyn Lloyd-Jones, Preaching and Preachers (Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1971) 9)

钟马田(1899-1981): 讲道的真正定义必须是一个人站在那里传递神的信息,即传递神给他子民的信息。用保罗的话来说,他称自己是“基督的使徒”。一点不错,他被差派、被委任,就是作为神和基督的代言人来向人们发表讲话的。换句话说,他不仅仅是在和他们说话,更不是在哄他们开心。(Preaching and Preachers)

箴士•布易士(1938-2000): 讲道是地方教会成长的基本方式。今天人们对此颇有争议,但神确实最多使用传讲他的道来建造教会,不仅仅是人数上的,最重要的是会众的属灵深度以及对神的认识。

约翰•麦克阿瑟(1939- ): 圣经是神的话语。它出自圣洁的神,反映神的心思、意念和旨意,当受极大的尊崇。我们在讲说它的时候切不可轻率,在研读它的时候切不可懒散;我们切不可以粗略、肤浅的方式对待它,而应付诸极大的委身。(John F. MacArthur, "Principles of Expository Preaching" (Audio Tape GC 2001; Panorama City: Word of Grace, 1980) 1)

约翰•派博(1946- ): 如果神在我们的讲道中都不被尊为至高,那么人们在这个世界上还到哪里能听到至高的神?如果我们在周日早晨都不能摆设神至高美丽的盛宴,那么人们岂不是白白寻找,只能以过去的点滴快乐和说得天花乱坠的宗教来满足让他们陷入极度沮丧的干渴?如果周日早晨活水之泉不是从神主权恩典的山中流下,那么周一人们岂不会“为自己凿出池子,是破裂不能存水的池子”? (The Supremacy of God in Preaching (Baker, 1990), p. 108-109

约翰•派博(1946-): 我们被称为“神奥秘之事的管家”……最大奥秘就是“基督在你们心里成了有荣耀的盼望”……那荣耀就是神的荣耀。并且“所求于管家的,是要他有忠心”。我们要忠心地放大那独一的、永生神极大的荣耀。这里的放大不是像显微镜那样将微小的东西变大,而是像天文望远镜那样,使像银河系那样、大得无法想象的的荣耀让人的肉眼能看见。 (The Supremacy of God in Preaching)

史蒂文•劳森(1951- ): 基督和他被钉十字架就如一个制高点,我们在讲道中必须要讲到。除此之外,任何落脚之处都是滑坡,不可避免地让我们滑向毫无意义的华丽的辞藻、咬文嚼字的坡下。因此,每一个讲坛都应当呈现出一个高的视角,让人们看到耶稣基督这位独一的人以及他的救赎之工。所有的讲道都必须指向基督担当人的罪,替罪人受死。所有的解经都必须高举这位牺牲的羔羊,他替所有信他的人承担了罪的刑罚。所有的信息都必须高举基督,他从死里复活,高坐在父神的右边,拥有天上地下一切的权柄。

史蒂文•劳森(1951- ): 讲坛信息设定了最高水位线,会众的属灵生命以及在恩典中的成长永远也超不过这道线。 (The Kind of Preaching God Blesses)

唐崇荣(1940- ): 耶稣基督说的话很简单,却包含了世界上最深奥的智能。所以,我们相信深入浅出是可能的。如果我们弄通了上帝的话,又能够加以清楚表达的话,就可以使许多人认识这伟大的信仰与深奥的智能。